20 Jazz Funk Greats

20JFG did a write up for one of our old songs, Fields of Aaru:

‘Strange Forces allow us to dwell in a bar of gothic ambience before flooding us with the sun-kissed dreams of chillwave. Layers and layers of vocal, guitar and synth mingle in the reed fields of this heavenly bliss. So to the end of the film, laying back, the last 90 minutes a fever dream away, Osiris gazing down at you as you let the sun brush against your skin. A snare hits, the camera pulls back to reveal the gaping blue sky and the credits roll.StrAnge forces folded space between their native Brisbane and the worlds of possibility that are Berlin. From there they haunt their surroundings with their echoey psychedelia.’

Download Fields at our soundcloud page or click on the little downward arrow on the player below:

3 Comments

Filed under News, Reviews

3 responses to “20 Jazz Funk Greats

  1. NYX

    “I was stared at, hooted at, grinned at, chattered at, by monkeys, by paroquets, by cockatoos. I ran into pagodas, and was fixed, for centuries, at the summit, or in secret rooms: I was the idol; I was the priest; I was worshipped; I was sacrificed. I fled from the wrath of Brama through all the forests of Asia: Vishnu hated me; Seva laid wait for me. I came suddenly upon Isis and Osiris: I had done a deed, they said, which the ibis and the crocodile trembled at. I was buried for a thousand years, in stone coffins, with mummies and sphinxes, in narrow chambers at the heart of eternal pyramids. I was kissed, with cancerous kisses, by crocodiles; and laid, confounded with all unuttemble slimy things, amongst reeds and Nilotic mud.”

Leave a Reply

